Review – Jack and Jill

0

I don’t think Adam Sandler is the best actor, but he can be funny when he has good material to work with. He has not had the best career; he wastes his time doing dumb comedies. Examples of this are “Click”, “Bedtime Stories”, and “Grown Ups”. But at times he comes along and gives a good performance in a good movie. Examples of this are “Funny People”, “Spanglish”, and “50 First Dates”. So when hearing everything about this movie, I knew it was either going to be a complete train wreck, or a decent little comedy. As it turns out “Jack and Jill” is not just a simple train wreck, it is a train that went off the tracks, then kept crashing through houses and trees, than fell off a cliff and blew up.

 Jack (Adam Sandler) is a successful Hollywood advertising agent who dreads every Thanksgiving because his twin sister Jill (Adam Sandler) pays her annual visit. She can be sweet, but she is mainly loud and annoys Jack all the time. After she is starting to outstay her welcome at his house, he threatens to kick her out. This is until Al Pacino (he is the star that Jack’s client, Dunkin Donuts, wants to land for their new campaign) starts to show an interest in her. Jack then has a choice ahead of him. He can respect Jill, who isn’t interested in Pacino, or pretend to be her to land his big business deal.

 I admit I knew this was going to be silly; Adam Sandler is playing both twins, Jack and Jill. This seems like a paycheck movie for him. He isn’t really trying to give a good performance here. That is not all his fault though. There is nothing to work with for any of the actors. There’s just no material that can be worked with. It seems like everyone involved in this movie didn’t care what they were doing. Things get so bad to a point where every second that goes by hurts. This movie is 1 hour and 33 minutes, but it feels like I was watching it for 2 and a half hours.

                              

 Steve Koren, Robert Smigel, and Adam Sandler wrote the script. I didn’t know who wrote the script going into this. After it was over I thought this must have been written by some kid. So before I wrote this review I looked it up and I was shocked to find out it wasn’t a kid. Every gag falls flat before it’s even out of the characters mouth. Everything is used material turned bad, or if there’s something new mixed in there, it’s just so awful. The director, Dennis Dugan, doesn’t do anything to help out. I know he didn’t direct. He said guys just do whatever you want, and then he left. Dugan directed nothing, especially his actors. Adam Sandler can only be good when he has a good script and good direction, and all of that was horrible in this movie. So as a result he gives one of his worst performances he has ever given.

 This is a paycheck movie for Sandler. He didn’t try to act, he just collected the money and put in no effort whatsoever. This was a bad career movie for him. Kstie Holmes seems like she is trying to do something, but if she was it was destroyed by everything going on around her. What pained me most was to see Al Pacino playing himself giving his worst performance of his career. Why he took this role is beyond me. Another thing that is beyond me is that they got this great actor and wasted him. The whole just does a bad job. Even though they didn’t have anything to work with, they still could have given more effort.

 I saw “Transformers: Dark of the Moon” (this one is even worse, it doesn’t even have good special effects) recently, and I thought I wouldn’t see a movie that bad in a while. Well, it turns out I was wrong about that. I found nothing to like in this movie, I am giving “Jack and Jill” my lowest rating. I know some people are going to think I am being to hard on this, but how can I not give it my lowest rating, I mean nothing works. It hurts me to know that movies like this are being seen and movies like “The American” are not.. I said this was a paycheck movie for Sandler, but this is a paycheck movie through and through. They put in no effort, just slapped some things together they thought would sell tickets. Don’t waste your time and money, there’s way better things to see than this.

6 thoughts on “Review – Jack and Jill

  1. I’m surprised you had even a little faith in this movie. It looked like a complete trainwreck from the start. The only Sandler movies I’ve actually enjoyed are 50 First Dates and The Wedding Singer; I guess Drew Barrymore brings out the best in him. Granted, I haven’t seen Punch-Drunk Love or Funny People.

    • I had some faith because I went in expecting nothing form 50 First Dates, and I was surprised. I didn’t even mean I had faith, I just meant it could have gone one of those ways. I try to stay optimistic, cause you never know when a movie will come along and surprise you. Thanks for commenting.

  2. Wonderfully perceptive and honest review Alec. I completely agree that it’s a paycheck movie for Sandler, and the direction was basically phoned in. For my money Sandler’s best performance remains the one he gave for P.T. Anderson in PUNCH DRUNK LOVE.

  3. I laughed out loud at the end of your opening paragraph. Maybe I won’t try to see this after all, even if it’s just for a matter of seeing Adam make a complete ass of himself. It seems he always has to portray somebody rich, as if his audience will laugh at the hidden irony there.

    • Thanks, this movie is just so bad. But one rainy day down the road if you want to laugh at how horrible a movie can be than I guess you could see it.

YOUR THOUGHTS, COMMENT BELOW

